

## Purpose of ESA

Space Agency



"To provide for and promote, for exclusively peaceful purposes, cooperation among European states in

space research and technology

and their **space applications.**"

Article 2 of ESA Convention



## **Member States**

ESA has 22 Member States: 20 states of the EU (AT, BE, CZ, DE, DK, EE, ES, FI, FR, IT, GR, HU, IE, LU, NL, PT, PL, RO, SE, UK) plus Norway and Switzerland.

Seven other EU states have Cooperation Agreements with ESA: Bulgaria, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Slovakia and Slovenia. Discussions are ongoing with Croatia.

Canada takes part in some programmes under a long-standing Cooperation Agreement.





## **Activities**



ESA is one of the few space agencies in the world to combine responsibility in nearly all areas of space activity.



















